Free delivery on all orders in the UK

Annie Fischer


More Views

Special Price: £ 9.99

Quick Overview

Piano Concerto
Eroica Variations
Piano Sonata No.30
Kölner Rundfunk-Sinfonie-
Joseph Keilberth

More details

Sviatoslav Richter said that that Hungarian born Annie Fischer was 'a great artist imbued with a spirit of greatness and genuine profundity' while Pollini felt her playing contained 'a childlike simplicity, immediacy and wonder'.Compared to her peers, she seems to have been among the the least recorded due to her dislike of the studio. David Threasher in his booklet notes remarked that Fischer had 'unerring awareness' of the shifting moods in this 1958 live recording of Schumann's Piano Concerto and was 'powerfully authoriative' in the two Beethoven Sonatas from 1957. None of these WDR performances have been published before.

Download (Full Album 320kbps mp3)


Piano Concerto in A minor op.54*

1 I Allegro affettuoso                                                                                                                     14.53

2 II Intermezzo: Andantino grazioso                                                                                        5.42

3 III Allegro vivace                                                                                                                            11.05



Variations and Fugue in E flat major on an Original Theme op.35 ‘Eroica’

4 Theme                                                                                                                                              3.31

5 Variation 1                                                                                                                                       0.40

6 Variation 2                                                                                                                                       0.52

7 Variation 3                                                                                                                                       0.42

8 Variation 4                                                                                                                                       0.41

9 Variation 5                                                                                                                                       0.50

10 Variation 6                                                                                                                                     0.43

11 Variation 7                                                                                                                                     0.41

12 Variation 8                                                                                                                                     0.43

13 Variation 9                                                                                                                                     0.36

14 Variation 10                                                                                                                                  0.42

15 Variation 11                                                                                                                                  0.41

16 Variation 12                                                                                                                                  0.40

17 Variation 13                                                                                                                                  0.36

18 Variation 14                                                                                                                                  1.16

19 Variation 15                                                                                                                                  4.30

20 Finale: Alla Fuga                                                                                                                          4.24


Piano Sonata No.30 in E major op.109

21 I Vivace ma non troppo – Adagio espressivo                                                                  3.44

22 II Prestissimo                                                                                                                               2.24

23 III Gesangvoll, mit innigster Empfindung (Andante molto cantabile                     12.14

ed espressivo)



*Kölner Rundfunk-Sinfonie-Orchester (Now renamed WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln)

*Joseph Keilberth

Schumann- Piano Concerto in A minor op.54 - Allegro affettuoso

Martin Kendrick

“The performance is alive with incident and passion, shape and poise too, but without prissiness…grandly effective.”

    Martin Kendrick

    “The 'Eroica' Variations are acutely characterized, while Op. 109 is a reading at its most noble and elevated in the finale: this is heavenly playing. The braodcast sound is very good throughout.”

    International Record Review

      Martin Kendrick

      “Throughout, she adhors trickery of any kind...a quality demonstrated with superb authority in the Eroica Variations. Here, exuberance and a certain classical sobriety combine to produce playing with an unfaltering ring of truth.”


        Add new review

        Add new review