Free delivery on all orders in the UK

Ingrid Jacoby


More Views

Special Price: £ 9.99

Quick Overview

Piano Concerto
No.5 ‘Emperor’
Andante favori
Piano Variations & Bagatelles
Sinfonia Varsovia
Jacek Kaspszyk

More details

Praised by The New York Times for her ‘clear articulation … unequivocal phrasing … [and] expressivity’, Ingrid Jacoby has established herself as one of the most poetic and admired pianists of her generation. In America, the National Society of Arts and Letters awarded to her (in 1994) one of its highest distinctions, the Lifetime Achievement Award. This is Volume 2 of Ingrid Jacoby’s complete set of Beethoven Piano Concertos. This strongly projected performance of Beethoven’s Concerto No.5 is complemented by an all-Beethoven recital which Ingrid Jacoby recorded in 1991–2, featuring sets of variations, the Andante favori and the op.119 Bagatelles. The producer was Tony Faulkner. The booklet contains notes by Richard Wigmore in addition to personal insights by Ingrid Jacoby on Beethoven interpretation.

Download (Full Album 320kbps mp3)



Piano Concerto No.5 in E flat major

op.73 ‘Emperor’*

(Cadenzas: Beethoven)

1 I Allegro 20.32

2 II Adagio un poco mosso 8.17

3 III Rondo: Allegro 10.44

5 Variations in D major on

‘Rule, Britannia’ WoO79

4 Tema: Tempo moderato 0.52

5 Variation I 0.48

6 Variation II 1.02

7 Variation III 0.45

8 Variation IV 0.51

9 Variation V 1.30

10 Andante favori in F major WoO57 9.52

7 Variations in C major on

‘God Save the King’ WoO78

11 Tema 1.14

12 Variation I 0.59

13 Variation II 0.50

14 Variation III 0.46

15 Variation IV 0.54

16 Variation V 1.28

17 Variation VI 1.04

18 Variation VII 2.17

Bagatelles op.119

19 No.1 in G minor: Allegretto 2.41

20 No.2 in C major: Andante con moto 1.00

21 No.3 in D major: À l’allemande 1.29

22 No.4 in A major: Andante cantabile 1.31

23 No.5 in C minor: Risoluto 1.13

24 No.6 in G major: Andante – Allegretto 1.37

25 No.7 in C major: Allegro, 0.57

ma non troppo

26 No.8 in C major: Moderato cantabile 1.50

27 No.9 in A minor: Vivace moderato 0.31

28 No.10 in A major: Allegramente 0.18

29 No.11 in B flat major: Andante, 2.31

ma non troppo


INGRID JACOBY piano · *Sinfonia Varsovia / *Jacek Kaspszyk

Recorded: Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio of Polish Radio, Warsaw, 20 & 21 November 2012

(concerto); Watford Town Hall, London, 11 & 12 November 1991 & 18 February 1992 (solo works)

Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5 - I Allegro

Martin Kendrick

“Besides the crisp articulation of the various variants within this large and playful movement of electric excitement, Jacoby brings – as she has demonstrated throughout – a poetic kinship with Beethoven’s assertive figures that can suddenly melt into extraordinary sympathies for the human condition.”

Audiophile Audition

    Add new review

    Add new review

    • Ingrid Jacoby and Karajan CDs nominated by the ICMA jury for the 2014 awards
      Ingrid Jacoby’s CD (ICAC5104) featuring Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.5 “Emperor” and the double CD of Karajan (ICAC5102) conducting Mozart’s Symphony “Jupiter” and Bruckner’s Symphony No.7 have been nominated by the International Classical Music Awards 2014 (ICMA) respectively in the CONCERTO and in the HISTORIC categories.